Six New Counties Quarantined for EAB


Since the August newsletter, it was announced that six new counties would be quarantined for emerald ash borer (EAB). The find in Chippewa County was due to a vigilant landowner while the other finds were due to trapping by USDA APHIS.

EAB continues to be found in new areas. Wisconsin tracks EAB at the municipality or township level. Quarantined counties are shown in tan; infested areas are shown in green on the map below.

Quarantined for EAB
EAB quarantine map. Counties shaded in tan are
quarantined for EAB, green areas are townships
and municipalities where EAB has been

New county quarantines:

• Chippewa – EAB found in the town of Lafayette
• Green Lake – EAB found in the towns of Brooklyn and Green Lake
• Marinette – EAB found in the city of Niagara, towns of Goodman and Wagner
• Marathon – EAB found in the town of Rib Mountain
• Waupaca – EAB found in the town of Farmington
• Waushara – EAB found in the town of Deerfield

New finds in counties already quarantined:

• Dane County – villages of Marshall and Rockdale, towns of Berry, Blue Mounds, Mazomanie, Medina, Oregon, and Pleasant Springs
• Door County — village of Ephraim, town of Union
• Douglas County — town of Amnicon
• Sauk County – village of Lake Delton
• Sheboygan County — villages of Adell and Cascade
• Vernon County – town of Christiana

Written by: Linda Williams, forest health specialist, Woodruff, ([email protected]), 715-356-5211 x232.